Incident report or other record request on-line:
Use our on-line format to request a record for pick up at the CCSO Headquarters Building at the government complex. Incident Reports: Please allow 3-5 business days for the report to be received in the Central Records Bureau.
Request a CCSO report on-line
Incident report or other record request in person:
Come to the Central Records Bureau on the second floor of the CCSO Headquarters building at the government complex to request the report. The CCSO Headquarters address is the same as the mailing address listed below. Use the main entrance (near the ATM) and go up the stairs to the duty officer window. The duty officer will buzz you into the lobby adjacent to the Central Records Counter window. There is a charge of $.15 per page single-sided and $.20 per page for each two-sided copy.
Send a request for an incident report or other record by U.S. Mail:
The mailing address:
Collier County Sheriff's Office
Attn: Central Records Bureau
3319 Tamiami Trail East, Naples, Florida 34112
There is a charge of $2.00 per report up to (8) eight pages, if the report is (9) nine or more pages an additional $.15 per page single-sided and $.20 per page for each two-sided copy. DO NOT SEND CASH THROUGH THE MAIL.
Local Criminal Background (Arrest) Check:
Please allow 3-5 business days. The person being checked must be eighteen years of age. Their name and date of birth is required. There is a charge of $5.00 per background check. By mail include a $5.00 check or money order and a self- addressed stamped envelope. DO NOT SEND CASH THROUGH THE MAIL
A Local Criminal Background Check can also be requested on-line. Click here to SUBMIT A PUBLIC RECORDS REQUEST online.
Provide written notice identifying the public records request to the agency’s custodian of public records before the filing of a civil action. Send a request by U.S. Mail.
The mailing address is:
Collier County Sheriff’s Office
Attn: Patti Anderson, Records Custodian, Central Records Bureau
3319 Tamiami Trail East
Naples, Florida 34112
Or the email address is:
There are several ways to obtain a traffic crash report; you can come to the Collier County Sheriff’s Office, Central Records Bureau at 3319 Tamiami Trail, Naples, Florida 34112. |
The Central Records Bureau hours of operation are Monday thru Friday 8:00am to 5:00pm except for recognized county holidays. Or the Immokalee Substation located at 112 South First Street, Immokalee, Florida 34142.
By mail, there is a charge of $2.00 for up to eight pages. If under the sixty days the traffic crash report is only releasable to the parties involved, their insurance companies, or by providing a copy of the proper credentials required in Florida Statutes, Section 316.066.
The mailing address is – Collier County Sheriff’s Office, Central Records Bureau
3319 Tamiami Trail East, Naples, Florida 34112
Get A Florida Crash Report
RELEASE OF FLORIDA TRAFFIC CRASH REPORTS:
Per Florida Statute Section 316.066, effective June 5, 2001, accident reports are no longer a public records under the provisions of Florida Statute Section 119.07 for a period of 60 days after the date the report is filed. However, they can be made available immediately to:
1. The parties involved;
2. Their legal representatives;
3. Their licensed insurance agents;
4. Their insurers;
5. Persons under contract with such insurer to provide claims or underwriting information;
6. Prosecutorial authorities;
7. Radio and television stations licensed by the FCC;
8. Newspapers qualified to publish legal notices and free newspapers of general circulation, published once a week or more often, available and of interest to the public generally for the dissemination of news. For the purpose of Florida Statute Section 316.066, the following products are NOT qualifying newspapers: those intended primarily for members of a particular profession or occupational group; those with the primary purpose of distributing advertising; those with the primary purpose of publishing names and other personally identifying information concerning parties to motor vehicle crashes;
9. State and Federal Agencies authorized to have access to such reports by any provision of the law.
Per Florida Statute Section 316.066, any person attempting to access accident reports within 60 days after the date the report is filed must present legitimate credentials or identification that demonstrates their qualifications to access the report. Any person, knowing that he or she is not entitled to obtain information made confidential by this section is guilty of a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Florida Statute Section 775.082, 775.083 or 775.084.
When making a request for an accident report which falls within the 60 days time period, one of the following types of credentials and/or identification must be provided in support of any claim for access to the requested report:
1. Drivers license or other governmental issued picture ID, identifying the requester as a party involved in the accident;
2. Signed and notarized letter from an involved party authorizing the pickup of the report on their behalf;
3. Letter from an attorney stating they represent a party involved;
4. Formal written request from an insurance company on company letterhead or otherwise clearly identifiable request form for each report identifying the parties they insure;
5. Written proof demonstrating one is under contract with an insurer for the specific report requested and identifying the insured parties;
6. State or Federal Credentials and/or licenses;
7. As approved by a supervisor in the Records Section.