Traffic FAQs

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What is the seatbelt law in Florida?

Adults ( people 18 years old and older) must wear a seat belt while driving or riding in the front seat of a car or truck.  Children and teenagers under 18 must wear a seat belt anywhere they sit in the car.

Can my child ride his motorized scooter (go-ped) on the street or the sidewalk?

Only scooters without motors (ones you push with your feet) can travel on the sidewalks.
In order to ride a motorized scooter on public streets, you must have a driver’s license.

How long after moving to Florida do I have to get a Florida driver’s license or a Florida license plate?

You have 30 days after you start working or registering your child for public school to get your Florida driver’s license.
You have 10 days after you start working or registering your child for public school to get your Florida license plate.

I just got a ticket for speeding. What’s next?

You have 3 options. You can pay the fine, go to traffic school and pay a reduced fine in most cases or go to court.

Can I turn right after stopping if the traffic light is red?

Yes, unless there is a sign prohibiting it. 

What’s the penalty under law if I’m pulled over and don’t have proof of insurance on me?

Florida law requires an automatic suspension of the registration and driving privilege of a Florida driver convicted for operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. This citation applies if the driver is the owner or co-owner of the vehicle.

If a driver elects to plead no contest and presents proper proof of insurance to the clerk of court, adjudication of guilt will be withheld. If a driver elects to pay the fine, the citation will be recorded as an adjudication of guilt and will result in an automatic driver’s license suspension.

What are the laws and rules for sharing the road with bicycles?

General Bicycle Regulations – Section 316.2065
• A bicyclist must obey all traffic controls and signals including stop signs and stop lights.
• No bicycle may be used to carry more people at one time than the number for which it is made.
• At least one hand must be kept on the handlebars while riding.

Lighting – Section 316.2065
• A bicycle operated between sunset and sunrise must be equipped with a light on the front that is visible from 500 feet and both a rear reflector and a red light on the rear visible from 600 feet.
• Additional lighting is permitted and recommended.

Roadway Position – Section 316.2065
• A bicyclist must ride as close as practicable to the right hand curb or edge of the road. A bicyclist may leave the right-most portion of the road in the following situations: when passing, making a left turn, to avoid hazards, or when a lane is too narrow for bicycle and car to share it safely.
• Riding in single fi le is required except on sidewalks or when two people riding side-by-side within one lane will not impede traffic.

Sidewalk Riding – Section 316.2065
• When riding on sidewalks or in crosswalks, a bicyclist has the same rights and duties as a pedestrian.
• A bicyclist riding on sidewalks or in crosswalks must yield the right-of-way to pedestrians, and must give an audible signal before passing.

I walk everywhere. What are the laws to protect me?

To keep you safe, always use the sidewalk if there is one. If there is no sidewalk, walk on the grass on the side of the road facing traffic. Always cross at crosswalks.

We have a truck and our kids like to ride in the bed. Is that okay?

If they are under the age of 18, they must wear a seat belt when in a car or truck. It is against the law to have children riding in the back of a pickup.