Convicted sexual offenders and convicted sexual predators are required to register with the Collier County Sheriff’s Office at the Collier County Jail Center within 48 hours after entering Collier County pursuant to Florida State Statutes.
Collier County Jail Center, 3347 Tamiami Trail East, Naples FL 34112
Failure to report as required is a third degree felony
What to bring:
- Valid identification card or driver’s license
- If this is your first time registering as a sexual offender or predator, bring any court disposition paperwork such as judgment and sentencing
- $75 for initial registration, $25 for re-registration, $10 for an information update. Cash only, a receipt will be provided.
What to expect:
At registration, the sexual offender or predator MUST provide the following information:
- Date of birth
- Social security number
- Tattoos or other identifying marks
- Hair and eye color
- All home telephone numbers and cellular telephone numbers
- All electronic mail addresses
- Internet identifiers, and each Internet identifiers corresponding website homepage or application software name (see definition below)
- Address of all permanent and legal residences; address of any current temporary residence; any transient residence within the state; address, location, description and dates of any current or known future temporary residence within the state or out of state (see definitions below)
- Occupation and place of employment
- Make, model, color, vehicle identification number (VIN), and license tag number of all vehicles owned (see definition below)
- Date and place of each conviction
- Fingerprints and palm prints
- Brief description of the crime or crimes committed
- Passport (if I have one)
- If I am an alien, I must produce or provide information about documents establishing my immigration status
- Information on all professional licenses (see definition below)
Within 48 hours after the initial registration of information as required above, the sexual offender or predator MUST report in person to the driver license office of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) and provide proof of initial registration as a sexual offender or predator to secure or renew a valid Florida driver license or identification card displaying one of the following designations: “SEXUAL PREDATOR” or “943.0435, F.S.” unless a driver license or identification card with such designation was previously secured or updated. The sexual offender or predator must submit to the taking of a photograph for use by the department in maintaining current records of sexual offenders/predators.
Use the DHSMV site located at: 725 Airport Road S., Naples, FL 34104
Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Commonly Asked Question:
Do out-of-state sex offenders have to register in Florida, even if they are only visiting, attending school, or working in Florida?
Yes, if an offender or predator is visiting Florida from another state, he or she must report in person to the sheriff's office within 48 hours of establishing a temporary residence in Florida. He or she is required to report within 48 hours from the time of his or her registration with the sheriff's office to report in person to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) with a copy of the completed sexual offender/predator registration form to obtain a valid Florida identification card or driver's license.
Failure to maintain, acquire, or renew a drivers license or ID card as required is a third degree felony
“Internet identifier” means any designation, moniker, screen name, username, or other name used for self-identification to send or receive social Internet communication (see s. 775.21(2)(m), F.S. for definition of “social Internet communication”). Internet identifier does not include a date of birth, social security number, personal identification number (PIN), or password. A sexual offender’s or sexual predator’s use of an Internet identifier that discloses his or her date of birth, social security number, personal identification number (PIN), password, or other information that would reveal the identity of the sexual offender or sexual predator waives the disclosure exemption in this paragraph for such personal information.
“Permanent residence” means a place where I abide, lodge, or reside for 3 or more consecutive days.
“Professional license” means the document of authorization or certification issued to me by an agency of this state for a regulatory purpose, or by any similar agency in another jurisdiction for a regulatory purpose, for me to engage in an occupation or carry out a trade or business.
“Temporary residence” means a place where I abide, lodge, or reside, including, but not limited to, vacation, business, or personal travel destinations in or out of this state, for a period of 3 or more days in the aggregate during any calendar year and which is not my permanent address or, if my permanent residence is not in this state, a place where I am employed, practice a vocation, or am enrolled as a student for any period of time in this state.
“Transient residence” means a county where I live, remain, or am located for a period of 3 or more days in the aggregate during a calendar year and which is not my permanent or temporary address. The term includes, but is not limited to, a place where I sleep or seek shelter and a location that has no specific street address.
“Vehicles owned” means any motor vehicle as defined in s. 320.01, which is registered, co-registered, leased, titled, or rented by me; a rented vehicle that I am authorized to drive; or a vehicle for which I am insured as a driver. The term also includes any motor vehicle as defined in s. 320.01, which is registered, co-registered, leased, titled, or rented by a person or persons residing at my permanent residence for 5 or more consecutive days.
For your reference, the Sexual Offender Statues (Law) can be located at:
Point of contact: Detective Walter Kopka, Collier County Sheriff's Office, Special Victims Section
Phone: 239-252-0082 or email: firstname.lastname@example.org