Following are industry "best practices" for child restraint in vehicles:
Newborns to one-year-old children who weigh 20 pounds should ride in rear-facing car seats.
Forward facing car seats are used for children who are over one-year-old and over 20 pounds until they are four-years-old and weigh 40 pounds.
A booster seat is used until the child is 80 pounds and 4 feet 9 inches tall.
Children weighing more than 80 pounds and measuring more than 4 feet 9 inches tall can ride with a seat belt on.
Riding in the front seat
Children 12 and under should ride in the back seat for safety.
You must have a car seat for your infant or child
The Sheriff's Office has nationally certified child passenger safety technicians who provide free assistance and instruction with car seat installation.
Care seat safety education for children
The Bucklebear Good Passenger program is a 30-minute puppet show and storytime for kids from two to six-years-old. The program teaches kids about the importance of buckling up.
Please call 239-252-0367 for help with a car seat or to schedule a presentation program for your group or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org
Child Passenger Safety
Florida Traffic Safety Resource Center
American Automobile Association
National Child Passenger Safety Board
American Academy of Pediatrics
Florida Child Restraint Law (FS 316.613)
Florida Safety Belt Law (FS 316.614)